Enhanced.

ENHANCECO INSURANCE APPRAISAL
CASE NUMBER: SE108897

The following evidence was obtained from diagnostic downloads, Video feeds, official reports and personal diary entries of the claimant.

VIDEO DESCRIPTION – FEED 33897
“This is Robert Edison, patient 27,” said Dr Bryson to the group of students gathered around the bed. [DR BORIS BRYSON. LEAD PHYSICIAN AND ENHANCECO REP]

“He started having continuous seizures so he’s been in an induced coma for six weeks. He’ll be the first patient to undergo the EnhanceCo treatment. The treatment involves a chip implanted directly into the gap between the two hemispheres of the brain. Who can tell me what that’s called?”

“The longitudinal fissure?” asked Benny, one of the students.

“Very good, the main job of the chip is to provide direct electro stimulation to the brain to interrupt the seizures and allow the patient to function normally. The enhancements will provide increased memory, always on networking and improved aural and visual capabilities. He’s a lucky man, without this treatment he’d have to stay in this coma.” The group moved on to the next bed to be introduced to the other recipients of the EnhanceCo treatments.

DIAGNOSTIC DOWNLOAD 13b
INITIALIZING_BOOT_SEQUENCE: OK
SYSTEM_DIAGNOSTIC: OK
AURAL ENHANCEMENT: OK
VISUAL ENHANCEMENT:_FAIL_

VIDEO DESCRIPTION – FEED 33894
Robert lay still in bed, his eyes opened.
“Robert, can you hear me?” Asked Dr Bryson. “The operation was a success. Can you sit up for me? No sudden movements.” Robert sat up. He rubbed the stubble on his head and fingered the fresh scar which traversed his skull.

“I can’t see anything, why can’t I see anything?” He said.

“Don’t worry Robert, we’re just going to put your new hardware through some tests, get the bugs out, ok? The visual enhancement just needs a reboot, give it minute. You should start to see a readout, like a HUD.” Dr Bryson tapped on his tablet as he talked. A Nurse/Engineer [JAMES PIERPOINT] came into the room and checked the cannula in Robert’s arm then sat at a console in the corner of the room, which projected the implant readouts onto the opposite wall. The readout for the visual enhancement flashed red.

“Now Robert, you’ll see a bright flash in a second, it’s nothing to worry about, just the system rebooting.

DIAGNOSTIC DOWNLOAD 18f
INITIALIZING_BOOT_SEQUENCE: OK
VISUAL_ENHANCEMENT: OK

VIDEO DESCRIPTION – FEED 33894/cont
All of the readouts on the screen turned green.

“Robert, tell me what you see,” Asked Dr. Bryson.

“Just whiteness, but it’s getting darker. I can see outlines,” he smiled and started to cry. “I can see you, Doctor.”

ROBERT EDISON PERSONAL DIARY ENTRY #12
I’ve been home for two weeks now and everything seems great with the implant. I can hear amazingly well and my eyesight is incredible. I can even see in the dark now, perfect when I take Buster for a walk at night.

No more seizures either. I can see a live diagnostic screen in my peripheral vision when I want and I can see the chip has stopped 138 seizures since I had it. It really has changed my life. Darren [CLAIMANT’S SPOUSE] says it’s annoying when we watch TV because my ears are so sensitive now we have to turn the volume down and he can hardly hear it, I tell him to put the subtitles on!

ROBERT EDISON PERSONAL DIARY ENTRY #23
Back from our holiday. An amazing time in Paris. We went to a little restaurant called the Three Little Pigs. The food was excellent and we met a friendly Labrador that sat under the next table. [PHOTO AVAILABLE] I tried to speak to him but realised he probably spoke French and wouldn’t understand me.

The memory chip enhancement is incredible. I didn’t need a camera at all, everything I saw was recorded and I can image capture anything from the feed. My eyes can hook directly into all social media live feeds and I can post anything I see in seconds. If I was fifteen again, when I used to live my life online, this would have been incredible. As it is, I’m a little more restrained when it comes to sharing too much online, my friends will have to make do with a few pictures. [FULL VIDEO FEED OF ENTIRE HOLIDAY AVAILABLE ON CASE FILE]

VIDEO DESCRIPTION – FEED 33891
Robert sat in Dr Bryson’s office with the diagnostics running on a screen in front of him. [DIAGNOSTICS NORMAL]

“What seems to be the problem?” asked Dr Bryson.

“I’m not sleeping well. I stay awake thinking about everything. I have so much information in my head now, but it feels like the more stuff I know the less I understand. I spend hours lying in bed just trying to process it all.”

“Well, there’s nothing wrong with the implant itself. Sounds like a matter of adjustment to your new situation. We have a couple of options. We can reduce the memory capacity so you have less information to process…”

“No way Doc, I wouldn’t give any of it up,” said Robert.

“The other option is an upgrade. No need for surgery, it’s more an outsourcing of your cognitive ability. Online AI will take over some of your thinking, leaving you to be yourself and not worry so much about information overload.”

“I’m in.”

EMERGENCY CALL RECORDING
OPERATOR: Emergency, which service?
CALLER: [DARREN EDISON, SPOUSE] We need an ambulance, my husband’s in pain,
he’s screaming and grabbing his head and he says he’s gone blind.
OPERATOR: I’m despatching an ambulance to your location now, stay on the line
for me so I can ask you some questions. Is he on any medication?
Taken any recreational Drugs?
CALLER: No, nothing like that. He does have an implant in his brain, it
could be that.
OPERATOR: What kind of implant?
CALLER: Er, EnhanceCo I think. It helps with his seizures.
OPERATOR: Please hold.
ENHANCECO: Hi is this Darren?
CALLER: Yes, who’s this?
ENHANCECO: This is Elijah from EnhanceCo, your call has been handed to us due
to the nature of the emergency. We can see from our diagnotics that
Robert’s implant is… irregular in its operation. I’ve dispatched a
private ambulance which will take you to our facility.
CALLER: [SCREAMS IN BACKGROUND] Hurry, please.

DIAGNOSTIC DOWNLOAD 27j
INITIALIZING_BOOT_SEQUENCE: FAIL
SYSTEM_DIAGNOSTIC: _CORRUPT_ID: BITCOIN_DEMAND
AURAL ENHANCEMENT: _FAIL_
VISUAL ENHANCEMENT:_FAIL_

DR BRYSON REPORT #XE27
Patient 27 [ROBERT EDISON] arrived at the facility at 21:35hrs following an intercepted emergency call. The patient was in extreme pain and reported a loss of eyesight.

Following a system review it appeared the AI enhancement had been compromised by [REDACTED NATION STATE] allowing a ransomware bot to take over his implant.

His extreme pain was caused by the electro stimulation hardware firing continually. We managed to turn this function off as its malfunction wasn’t an intentional effect of the bot.

Due to the full integration of the chip into the visual and auditory cortices, the patient was both blind and deaf. Communication was impossible. The shutdown of the electro stimulation hardware meant the return of the patient’s seizures. The patient has been placed in an induced coma.

DR BRYSON REPORT #XE27 – ADDENDUM: Results of solutions review.
SURGERY: Out of the question. Nano-filaments from the chip are impossible to remove physically.
REPROGRAMME: The AI continually re-writes the encryption key on the ransomware’s behalf. Reprogramming impossible.
DESTRUCTION: destruction of the chip physically possible, however it is unlikely the visual and aural pathways will return to normal. Seizures will continue. Destruction not a solution.
PAY RANSOM DEMAND: the most likely way to achieve the desired result. The ransom demand is considerable. Out of the realms of any individual or family to pay. I suggest sending the case for appraisal with a request that EnhanceCo insurance covers the cost.

EXTRACT OF LETTER FROM DARREN EDISON
As I have said repeatedly, you already have all of my insurance details. You know I can’t afford the ransom. The life insurance won’t pay out because Robert isn’t dead. The health insurance won’t pay out because it was an experimental procedure that YOUR insurance should have covered. We’ve got an online fundraiser but we’ve collected nowhere near enough. Surely you should cover this kind of failure?

This was your product, you should help him, if not legally, then morally. Leaving him in the coma is indefensible.

ENHANCECO INSURANCE APPRAISAL
CASE NUMBER: SE108897 – REPORT CONCLUSION

The experimental nature of the procedure in question required comprehensive insurance coverage to obtain the government licence to carry it out. The sole purpose of this investigation is to ascertain whether EnhanceCo is liable for the failure of the procedure and the resulting physical state of patient 27.

Main Points to consider:

  • Following the initial setup of the implant it worked exceptionally well, as testified by the patient in his personal diary entries.
  • The main failure happened following the AI integration.
  • The failure was exacerbated by the AI assisting the ransomware protection protocols.
  • The ransomware was an outside, unforeseen influence out of the control of EnhanceCo.
  • The AI in use was contracted by EnhanceCo from an external party. That company is now in liquidation so no legal recourse available.

It is my opinion that EnhanceCo are not responsible for the resulting failure of the implant.

PAYMENT REQUEST: REJECTED

 

 

 

A Chuck Wendig Fiction challenge.

One thought on “Enhanced.

Leave a Reply

